IOF - International Osteoporosis Foundation

Left Navigation
About IOF Vision, Mission, Goals Board & Executive Committee Committee of Scientific Advisors Committee of National Societies Committee of Corporate Advisors Staff Annual Report
Top Navigation Homepage Search Sitemap Contact IOF Members Only

IOF elects new board of governance

IOF's international membership has newly elected 20 regular members of the Board for a 4 year term commencing November 5, 2002. The board members, representing 7 regions of the world, were elected by secret ballot in September 2002.

Results of Regular Board Elections

Asian Region/ 2 members:
E. Lau (Hong Kong, China); H. Morii (Japan)

European Region/ 10 members:
S. Adami (Italy); J. Compston (UK); P. Delmas (France); L. Edwards (UK); H. Fleisch (Switzerland; J. Kanis (UK); U. Liberman (Israel); H. Minne (Germany); S. Papapoulos (Greece/Netherlands); and J-Y Reginster (Belgium)

Middle East/African Region/ 1 member:
G. Maalouf (Lebanon)

North American Region/-3 members:
J. Bilezikian (USA); S. Cummings (USA); and J. Gordon (Canada)

Oceania Region/ 1 member:
E. Seeman (Australia)

South Central American Region/ 3 members:
R. Lederman (Brazil); G. Riera-Espinoza (Venezuela); and J. Zanchetta (Argentina)

At their first meeting, held November 5, 2002 in Barcelona, Spain, the 24-person board reelected Professor Pierre D. Delmas as president.
The board also reelected Professor Herbert Fleisch (Switzerland) as treasurer and Professor Jean-Yves Reginster (Belgium) as general secretary. In addition, members of IOF’s three committees voted for their chairpersons and vice-chairpersons, and based on those votes, the board confirmed the election of the following people who become ex-officio members of the board:

Committee of Scientific Advisers:
Chairman: Professor René Rizzoli (Switzerland)
Vice-chairman: Professor Olof Johnell (Sweden)

Committee of National Societies:
Chairman: Professor Peter Burckhardt (Switzerland)

Committee of Corporate Advisers:
Chairman: Yannis Tsouderos (France)
Vice-chairman: Marcel Lechanteur (France)

Homepage | Search | Sitemap | Contact IOF | Members Only

© 2003 International Osteoporosis Foundation:
About IOF | Legal Disclaimer